SP True Stories: Worst times of my life yield unexpected inheritance

8 Oct

From a friend:

Earlier this year I was at a conference when the speaker read Deut 15:1-3 from the Message Translation.  That passage ends with, “All debt is cancelled, GOD SAID SO!” inheritance

Upon hearing this, I had an awesome feeling wash over me and I just started thanking God.  Tears rolled out of my eyes. I knew that verse was for me.

Three weeks later, I received an unexpected letter from an attorney stating that I had received an inheritance of $22K from a foster dad that I had when I was 9 years old.  I had no contact with those foster parents until recent years, when the man contacted me a few times… then when he passed away, I attended his funeral.

When I heard the news, I heard God say, “I was thinking about you from before the foundations of the earth.”  This impacted me so deeply that I just sat there and cried.

This was the period of my life when I was so angry and bitter that I made life miserable for many people.  These were the worst moments of my life.  I was in five foster homes and a group home and an all girls school by my senior year.  All my brothers and sisters had been taken away from me… so I rebelled.  This couple only had me in their home for 6-9 months… and I was horrible the whole time.

The stunning news is that without my knowledge, they had put me in their will.  I was so moved that they were just foster parents and had NO obligation to leave me anything… hard to believe.  I am not sure I would have left me anything.  Yet God put it on their hearts to keep loving me.  During my worst days, God was beginning a debt-cancelling inheritance.  What a picture of Papa God’s love!

DF/MN

13 Responses to “SP True Stories: Worst times of my life yield unexpected inheritance”

  1. Deborah Fogal October 8, 2016 at 9:32 AM #

    Wow what a great God we have!

  2. Mel Wild October 8, 2016 at 10:15 AM #

    You know, that sounds just like Papa! 🙂

  3. Theresa Turnbull October 8, 2016 at 11:17 AM #

    Oh how I rejoice with you sister. God is so GoOD!!!!!❤️

  4. Theresa Turnbull October 8, 2016 at 11:20 AM #

    How I rejoice with you sister. God is so GoOD!!!!!

    • Mark Hendrickson October 8, 2016 at 7:43 PM #

      We rejoice with those who rejoice… and when we do we open up the favor channels for the testimony to happen in our lives. Yay, God!

  5. LeRoy Metzger October 8, 2016 at 2:42 PM #

    Good story, a dear friend of ours would say, Gods will His bill.

    • Mark Hendrickson October 8, 2016 at 7:42 PM #

      And I know some great friends who have an awesome testimony of God paying SOooo many bills because they walk in His will. They’re my heroes!!!!! 🙂

  6. sdphipps5@gmail.com October 8, 2016 at 3:56 PM #

    How cool…thanks for sharing, not so much the money part but your history/story…part of who you are and redemption of our real Father

    • Mark Hendrickson October 8, 2016 at 7:40 PM #

      Yeh, when my friend told me this story, it just reminded me again that God doesn’t look on our ‘worst’ times like we do. He sees with faith eyes… He believes in us more than we do. And you’re right, every testimony creates an even more solid foundation of faith which is so much more valuable than the money involved. But then you’re a water walker too… you know these things!!! 🙂

  7. dawnlizjones October 8, 2016 at 4:17 PM #

    So encouraging. Lord Jesus, love through me with that kind of love.

Leave a comment