SP True Stories: Someone slipped me a check

17 May

20160515_184522The wood fence in my back yard kept falling over because it was so old and rotten.  I had put it off for so long that it was kind of embarrassing.  So I started on the fence one morning and during the day I wondered what kind of story I would be able to tell about how God provided for this project.  It was going to cost about $500. 

The same evening that I started the fence I was attending a prayer meeting when someone slipped me a $500 check… and they didn’t even know about my fence project. 

What can I say… my God is SO GOOD!

MH/MO

4 Responses to “SP True Stories: Someone slipped me a check”

  1. bdgcdgbrian8z77 May 17, 2016 at 4:52 PM #

    Good faith building stuff.
    It reminds me of a time when we were filming David Herzog here on Kauai. He was teaching about sacrificial giving. God showed us that while my wife sometimes struggles with giving out of fear; I tend to struggle with recieving due to false pride. Anyway we kept giving that weekend sensing that God was trying to teach us something. We were near the end of the conference when a guy walked up to me and asked about a piece of equipment I was using.
    Then he asked me how much it cost. “Why do you ask?” I inquired. “Well I’d like to buy it for you” he said as he slipped a folded check into my shirt pocket. “Thank you.” I choked as I swallowed my pride andI resumed filming.
    Later I handed the check to my wife since she had been writing the checks all weekend. To her dismay it was for the exact total of what we
    had given. Got it Lord!
    Thanks for helping me remember😀

    • Mark Hendrickson May 17, 2016 at 10:54 PM #

      Isn’t God the coolest!!! And He meets us right where we are. In the mean time, our faith gets built up each time. The best Father!

  2. dawnlizjones May 17, 2016 at 5:11 PM #

    I am also amazed how the Lord provides in terms of “time”. When my schedule backs up like the kitchen sink with too much overload, He just has the grace to bring out the divine Roto-rooter (remember that one?).

    • Mark Hendrickson May 17, 2016 at 10:49 PM #

      Dawn, you always come up with the most innovative and witty insights in your blog, INSPIRATION with an ATTITUDE. You make me smile!

Leave a Reply

