Quote: Willpower exhausts, love ignites!

8 Feb

HeartFireRom 3:27 – The law of faith cancels the law of works; which means there is suddenly nothing left for man to boast in.  No one is superior to another.  Bragging only makes sense if there is someone to compete with or impress. “ While we compete with one another and compare ourselves with one another we are without understanding [2 Cor 10:12].  “Through the righteousness of God we have received a faith of equal standing [See 2 Pet 1:1 RSV].  The OS (operating system) of the law of works is willpower; the OS of the law of faith is love (Gal 5:6).  Love sets faith in motion.  The law presented man with choices; grace awakens belief!  Willpower exhausts, love ignites!  If choices could save us we would be our own Saviors!  Willpower is the language of the law, love is the language of grace and it ignites faith that leads to romance; falling in love beats “making a decision to believe in love”! (See Rom 7:19; Rom 3:28)  This leaves us with only one logical conclusion, mankind is justified by faith and not by their ability to keep the law.

Thoughts For Life – 2/7/15 – Francois du Toit  (from ‘God Believes in You’ – available in print and on Kindle)

Website: www.mirrorword.net – Email: info@mirrorword.net

Subscribe to Thoughts For Life here: http://www.mirrorword.net/daily-thoughts-sign-up.html


Follow-up commentary:

Obviously we’re not talking about everyday choices, to breathe, eat, sleep, get up, be kind, don’t say that, do this, love God, hate the devil, etc.

The essence of the article is that if one’s confidence is in their own ability to make wise choices then they become their own savior.  The world is full of people who have decided that their ability to choose is better than what or how God can choose.  So in effect, they become their own God.

This perspective of making choices is not only God-less… it is anti-God.

But when Christians make choices under the wholesome fear of God, then their choices are not of their own making but rather in right relationship with God.

Jesus said, “I can do nothing apart from my Father.”  “I only do what I see my Father do.”  “I only say what I hear my Father say.”

Even the Son of God didn’t make his own choices apart from His Father.  It’s not that He didn’t make choices… or couldn’t make good choices.  It’s that His choices were only initiated when He heard the Father’s will.

So, if I trust in my own ability to make my own wise choices (apart from God) then I become my own Savior.  “I gonna be saved by my own choices” – I think this phrase speaks for itself.

Case in point: I have a sexually challenged friend who now doubts God, the Bible and much of what he believed as a younger man.  Now he believes that his choices are to be trusted more than an “antiquated Bible” or a God who “doesn’t understand” the battle grounds of a man.  He believes that he is able to make better choices for his life than God.  So, he has become his own savior/god by making his own choices.

— MLH

2 Responses to “Quote: Willpower exhausts, love ignites!”

  1. Mel Wild February 8, 2015 at 6:12 PM #

    Good stuff! The Mirror Bible messes me up, constant derailing my religious filter whenever I read Scripture, forcing me to actually see just how over-the-top good Jesus is!

    • Mark Hendrickson February 8, 2015 at 10:37 PM #

      The Mirror Bible has lots of good stuff… sometimes you have to work hard to mine out the gold, but sometimes it’s just simple and profound…. and then you’ve got an ‘aha’ moment. Yes, Jesus is over-the-top good!!! Makes me smile to say it.

Leave a Reply

