Forgiveness Precedes Repentance

8 Dec

Wow! Can this really be true?

Repentance: Greek – Metanoia – Change your way of thinking

Forgiveness happened at the cross… (actually, before the foundation of the world)

“Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.” – Lk 23:34

Jesus’ actual words were “forgive them” even BEFORE we knew we sinned!

It works like this: When I ‘stub my toe’… and then realize that I have ALREADY been forgiven at the cross!… my response is to repent (change my way of thinking about God’s thoughts and love for me) so that I can experience His full benefits already afforded to me.  What kind of God forgives me BEFORE I sin?  Realizing this, I begin to get transformed by the renewing (changing) of my mind about God’s heart of love for me.  And experiencing this hard-to-believe-because-it’s-so-good Grace, teaches my heart to not sin.

For the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people.  It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age, – Titus 2:11-12

— MLH

4 Responses to “Forgiveness Precedes Repentance”

  1. Mel Wild December 8, 2014 at 2:25 PM #

    Amen! Knowing that we were forgiven before we even sinned gets us off the performance treadmill with God, running but going nowhere on conditional love and ongoing sin management. Now, instead of asking for something God has already given me, I’m free to learn from Him what I’m missing in my experience in Christ. I LOVE repentance.

    Transformation happens!

    • Mark Hendrickson December 8, 2014 at 4:18 PM #

      This so-good goodness of God leads us to change our minds about Him even more, (Rms 2:4) until our lower passions are trumped by One who is altogether good and in love with us. He’s was right, His thoughts were not our (old) thoughts. But thankfully He’s upgrading our minds to the grace-filled 5.5 OS.

      • BARRY December 10, 2014 at 7:32 AM #

        ..so good to know. GRACE is so GRACIOUS!

      • Mark Hendrickson December 10, 2014 at 2:42 PM #

        Barry, how is that we knew all these verses, but didn’t comprehend them in this light? I guess us ‘old dogs’ really can learn new tricks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

