Quote: Thinking From the Throne

29 Oct

 

God is inviting us into Biblical Throne-room thinking
When Jesus raised from the dead He didn’t do it FOR you, He did it AS you.
You can have a million dollars in the bank and still starve?
We must learn to tap into our inheritance
Faith explores what revelation provides
You can’t enjoy what you haven’t explored
God wants to re-illustrate who this Jesus is… through us.
God’s intention is that we would re-present Jesus in the earth
Col 3:1-4 You’re dead (to earthly things). Stop acting like you’re not dead
Set your mind on where you are now!!!
‘Heavenly places’ is NOW our home… everything else is a field trip.
Abiding in this ASCENDED life is the invitation to every believer.
The Lord’s prayer: Recreate Heaven’s culture ON earth
It’s a lot easier to ASK… rather than to begin to learn to RULE.
Rulership – Biblical definition: rule over to protect and come under to empower.
When you’ve tasted of supernatural supply you’ve lost the right to begin any thought process with what you don’t have.
Usually, we live under the kingdom that we think the most about.
Many people try to earn what He’s already paid for… forgiveness, sickness, provision…
He died AS you and me!!! It has ALL been paid for.
The mind is a better follower than a teacher… It was made to follow our spirit man.
The Lord is longing to live on earth again, through yielded people who re-present Him without defiling or compromising the inheritance He’s given them.
Rms 5:17 “Reign in life” means there is nothing that comes against you in life that you don’t have authority over.

by Bill Johnson – Bethel Church (from Sunday AM sermon – 6/9/13)

For free weekly downloadable podcasts from Bethel Church: www.ibethel.org

12 Responses to “Quote: Thinking From the Throne”

  1. melwild October 29, 2013 at 2:01 PM #

    What a great smorgasbord of truths to dine on here! One I hadn’t heard before, “‘Heavenly places’ is NOW our home… everything else is a field trip.” Amen. Yes, heaven is my home, and I’m there now, here on earth! I also really liked, “The mind is a better follower than a teacher. It was made to follow our spirit man.” How true. Like Paul said about himself, let us serve God with our spirit (Rom.1:9).

    • marklhen October 29, 2013 at 4:30 PM #

      We are in a huge learning curve into this ‘ascended life’. God is awakening our hearts to the “More” in Him. It was always available, but now there is a wholesale revelation across the greater body of Christ. So encouraging. Great to be on the ‘team’ of fellow-explorers in the Goodness and Grace of God. Blessings!

  2. Michael Taylor October 29, 2013 at 3:35 PM #

    Thanks Mark for the post. I’m so excited!
    I like what God is doing in your life and I bless it. Prepare for the “more”.

    • marklhen October 29, 2013 at 4:37 PM #

      Yes! The “More” is beginning to happen. I love reading your emails about the ‘outrageous’ God-things that have been happening in your life. Your simple devotion to Jesus… and then His miracles and supply in your life in these last couple of years have poured ‘gas’ on my own fires. Way to go, Mike! Way to go, Jesus!!!

  3. pstbenjordansen October 29, 2013 at 5:14 PM #

    I pray you dont mind me asking and that while if you read my blog you’ll understand where I am comming from that you’ll understand where this question is comming from. I agree with 99 percent of what is written here, which is not often the case with Bill Johnson. But is it our responsibility to re-create heavens culture on earth? The words of Matthew 6:10 are “Thy Kingdom come” correct? Is not not a prayer for God to send his kingdom. And Biblically where is the kingdom of God? Has God not already place the kingdom where he wants it? (Luke 17:20-21).

    • marklhen November 30, 2013 at 10:28 AM #

      I read your blog and realize that you are very entrenched in your thinking and in your aggressiveness AGAINST many things… against too many things to even list. It’s a little difficult to determine what you are FOR.

      Your comment on my blog seems innocent enough when I first read it, but after reading your blog, your comment now feels somewhat disingenuous. If I’m wrong, I apologize right now. I truly hope that you are kind with the people who get drawn into debate with you.

      It is not my passion, my pleasure, my conviction or my commission to fight against others. I have a full and very fruitful life in God. My personal passion is to be so full of life in God that I’m proactive vs reactive.

      My heart is so full of revelation of who I am and what I am called to be that although I am patient with those who are truly curious and hungry, I have no desire to get into a debate with someone who has already made up their mind against something that is very alive to me and is bearing fruit.

      My position is that if you and I are in the same family (the family of God) then I want to bless you in your walk with God. Eph 4 says, “strive to maintain the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace”. So since you’re in the ‘family’ and since you’re already entrenched in your thinking, I’d rather bless you than debate you.

      So, be blessed.

      Mark

      • pstbenjordansen January 6, 2014 at 4:44 PM #

        Mark, I was honest about where I was comming from as I told you to read my post. In that post I honest express my concern. I have asked this same question of those around me. When I do I have recieved answers such as “It’s a mystery”. “Touch not the Lord’s annointed.” (In regards to questioning another pastor). I have been told that the folks who came up with this theology recieved prophetic revelation from God and therefore it is not to be questioned. But, brother, I was told in scripture to “test” everything. I have tested this theology and no one will answer. No one wil answer this simple question. Where is the Biblical Mandate for us to create God’s kingdom on earth? I will not respond further, whether you answer the question or not.
        If you find that I am in error than as my Christian brother you can and should show me based on Scripture. No debate, just an answer.

      • marklhen January 6, 2014 at 9:44 PM #

        Your questions: “Where is the kingdom of God?”… “answer this simple question”… “Where is the Biblical Mandate for us to create God’s kingdom on earth?”

        The implications of the word, kingdom, simply mean ‘the dominion of a king’… in this instance, the dominion of God. Many times the Scripture uses these terms ‘kingdom of God’ and ‘kingdom of Heaven’ interchangeably. Both Mark and Luke use the term ‘kingdom of God’ while Matthew used the term the ‘kingdom of heaven’ when writing his Gospel to the Jews.

        As Jesus said in Luke 17:20–21, “Once, having been asked by the Pharisees when the kingdom of God would come, Jesus replied, “The kingdom of God does not come with your careful observation, nor will people say, ‘Here it is,’ or ‘There it is,’ because the kingdom of God is within you.” Actually, the last phrase means “the kingdom of God is AMONG you” or “in your midst.” Jesus was at least in part, referring to Himself being among them, and they didn’t even know it. The kingdom of God is in Heaven AND in/on the earth. The kingdom (or reign) of God is over both heaven and earth. The kingdom is not found or based in brick and mortar, but in living stones now… (saints who live on the earth… and some who have ‘graduated’ to ‘Heaven’). It is in the hearts of every man and woman who embraces the rule/dominion of the King. It is within us. That does not mean it is not manifest or expressed in the world around us… it IS manifest around us. Just as Jesus referred to the Spirit being like the wind. ”The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.” (Jn 3:8) We can see the signs of the kingdom all around us. Then just as surely as you and I embrace the dominion of the King, we begin to ‘live out’ the King’s heart around us. This expresses and advances the kingdom of Heaven into each of our worlds around us.

        We must understand that when Jesus said, “My kingdom is not of this world” (Jn 18:36), he didn’t mean “My kingdom is not here on earth, but up in heaven”. No, in fact this is not what Jesus means. Two pieces of evidence make this clear. First, the Greek literally reads, “My reign is not from this world [ek tou kosmou toutou].” Second, the latter portion of John 18:36 explains, “But now my kingdom is from another place [ouk estin enteuthen].” Literally, this sentence reads, “Now my reign is not from here.” Jesus is speaking, not of the location of his kingdom, but of the source of his royal authority. In other words, the source of God’s kingdom does not originate from earth… not from the adulation or authorization of man’s natural will or rule. The kingdom originates in Heaven and flows from Heaven… but very definitely manifests in both places… Heaven and earth.

        (Thought: I believe in second phrase there is latitude found in the word, “now,” to believe that Jesus expects that there will come a time when His reign will flow forth from the earth. How? Consider the Dan 9 passage below.)

        Jesus goes on to say that we must seek this Kingdom FIRST. “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” (Matt 6:33) To try to get “things” without seeking the kingdom first, is like trying to live with the benefits of the kingdom without the embracing the dominion of the King.

        Jesus also says that we should pray/declare/prophesy, “Thy Kingdom come Thy will be done on earth as it is in Heaven.” (Matt 6:2; Lk 11:2) This is just one small part of our partnering with God to manifest and advance the Kingdom of God.

        Ultimately, God is the keeper of His ever advancing Kingdom. It’s His domain and His dominion. “Of the increase of his government and peace there shall be no end, upon the throne of David, and upon his kingdom, to order it, and to establish it with judgment and with justice from henceforth even for ever. The zeal of the Lord of hosts will perform this.” (Isa 9:7)

        But, I believe God has seen “the end of the matter” and He sees that He will give this kingdom into the hands of the saints. (Right now, this sounds too grandiose for our sin conscious minds. But it’s not too grandiose for God because He believes in us more than we believe in ourselves.) “And the kingdom and the dominion and the greatness of the kingdoms under the whole heaven shall be given to the people of the saints of the Most High; his kingdom shall be an everlasting kingdom, and all dominions shall serve and obey him.’ “Here is the end of the matter.” (Dan 7:27-28)

        How is the “dominion given into the hands of the saints”? I believe we’re still being offered the original mandate to have dominion over the earth as we partner with God. That’s what Adam did with God, even before the fall. God charged Adam, “Be fruitful and multiply, and fill the earth, and subdue it; and rule over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the sky and over every living thing that moves on the earth.” (Gen 1:28) Then later, God was interested in seeing how Adam was ruling over (naming) the animals, “and brought them unto Adam to see what he would call them:” (Gen 2:19-21) That is a incredible job description of dominion and rule. But we can see that under God’s sovereignty and under Father’s care, Adam was given charge over ALL that God had created.

        As we return to our original mandate, through Jesus, now the righteousness of God, which we are, (II Cor 5:21) is being expressed through every facet of our lives (as we let it) such that the world — and even creation’s eager expectation — is rewarded as the sons of God manifest His righteousness (Rms 8:19) and His rule and His kingdom influence upon the earth. Creation (the earth) has suffered the ravages of sin’s consequences far too long… but God’s ever increasing kingdom is surely advancing to displace the curse.

        That original mandate is still offered to those who love the dominion of the King and learn His heart, such that the word of God is in our mouths (Rms 10:8), even as an oracle of God (I Pet 4:11) to such extent that God will show Himself strong to that man (II Chron16:9) and endorse saints just as He did Jesus, “This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased; hear ye him..” (Matt 17:5). This is our standard: that whatever we say is the same as what the Father says… “if you’ve seen me you’ve seen the Father” (Jn 14:9). Jesus restored to us what sin had ravaged and stolen. Jesus made it possible for us to return back to the beginning where we had one-ness with God and experience the flow of kingdom life through us as He had originally designed.

        Are we there? Not yet. But whether we realize it or not… and whether we can believe it or not, God’s thoughts for us far surpass our own sin cultured perceptions of ourselves as mere clay mortals. Paul challenges us to believe how ‘important’ and valued we are to God. He declares that “The word of God is near you, even in your mouth.” (Rms 10:8) We understand that kings establish and advance their kingdoms by the word that proceeds out of their mouths. Paul says that our King’s words are even in OUR mouth. So as we agree and embrace the heart of our King and voice His desires and will, we are partnering with Him in the advancement of His kingdom (the King’s dominion) in the heavens and on the earth.

      • pstbenjordansen January 6, 2014 at 10:22 PM #

        Brother thank you for that. Listen, I apologise if you thought my question was an attact before. This is what I was asking you to answer. I hope that we can have opinions and have the “out loud” as even Paul opposed Peter to his face (Gal 2:11.) and infact what you have written is in no way opposed to my concerns on my own statement on my blog post. But yes, indeed, I do have my opinions, and I will, but I will also be in the word that my opinion may be challenged and become more in line with God’s word, and I will listen and read others for the same reason. I would hope brothers would correct me when I am wrong, as I dont want to be wrong, just as I hope we can challene one another, as even the first Apostles did.
        On that note you said that Jesus told us to Declare/ Prophecy “my kingdom come”, what does that mean, and how do you know that he also said declare/ prophecy? Look if you don’t want to answer dont, but discussion among brothers who disagree on small things but agree of Christ can only serve to help us grow.

      • marklhen January 9, 2014 at 11:04 AM #

        Your question: On that note you said that Jesus told us to declare/ prophesy “my kingdom come”, what does that mean, and how do you know that he also said declare/ prophesy?

        ‘Declare’ and ‘prophesy’ are my words. Jesus said to “pray” like this…. There are many acceptable heart postures in prayer. Begging, plaintiff, supplication, intercession, declaration, prophesying, devotion, warfare posture/doing battle, etc. Although I don’t think ‘begging’ and ‘plaintiff’ are ever a good posture with God, all the rest can be a valid posture to take when engaging Heaven in prayer. (See my blog: “Three Eras of Prayer Posture”)

        But now-a-days, I am more convinced than ever that we are not to pray from earth toward Heaven… as in a begging/plaintiff stance. But rather we are to pray from our position of sitting with Jesus on the Throne. “We are seated with Christ in heavenly places” (Eph 2:6) This is our new residence. Anything other than that is below what Jesus accomplished for us when He ascended on high. (Rms 6:4; Col 2:12) If we were buried with Christ then we were also raised with Christ… we are seated with Him now… and He is seated at the right hand of the Father. So this must become our new residence and center of our world… living from the Throne. (See my blog: “Where Do Christians Go When They Die? (Can we live in Heaven now?)”)

        We’re not talking about grasping for, or presuming more than God intends… rather we’re determined to not let our old sin ravaged mindset (see my blog: Grace For the Sin Issue… and So Much More) keep us tethered to earthly places when we’ve been afforded a palatial Heavenly place to call our new home.

        Before we knew the riches of what Jesus accomplished for us and gave to us, we thought we were just plaintiff and beggars, hoping for a few morsels of provision to get us by till Friday. This is misery Christianity… and a very unnecessary one… and one that is really demeaning to the rich inheritance that Jesus offers us. We’re transitioning from worthless beggar sin-conscious posture to one of a confident and beloved son seated beside our Daddy and Jesus. In fact, we’re on our way to learning how to be ‘kings’ unto our God… learning to rule and reign with Him.

        No, we’re not trying to say that we replace God… or don’t need God… or are equal to God… but we’re trying to effectively “put off” our old inferior identity (Eph 4:22; Col 3:9) and “put on Christ”. (Rms 13:14; Gal 3:27).

        This “putting on” will likely take some time as our minds are renewed to see ourselves as God sees us. You see, we usually practice whatever we believe… and we believe whatever we’ve ‘heard’ because “faith comes by hearing”. Unfortunately we’ve ‘heard’ wrong for far too long. But that’s all changing now. Jesus said, “As you go preach that the Kingdom of Heaven is at hand” (Matt 10:7). I believe that the Kingdom came during Jesus time on earth. It was fully available then… and always has been, since then. But we’ve not had very good preaching about what the Kingdom of God affords to us. Mostly we thought that the Kingdom of God could be enjoyed AFTER we die. That’s only part of the story. The Kingdom of God is also available NOW!

        Well, we’re retraining/renewing/upgrading our minds by the washing of the Word so that we might conform into the image of His dear Son. This sounds lofty and elite. And indeed it is unattainable in our own strength… or by taking thought… or by grasping for it. It is entered by “entering into rest”.

        Now back to prayer posture: I’m very sure that Jesus never begged His Father for anything as if He was wondering if Father would ever ‘come through’ for Him. Yes, Jesus did fervently supplicate in the Garden… but mostly His prayers were in the posture of thanks and commands. Thanking the Father and commanding the issues. In fact, look at the occasion at Lazarus tomb. Jesus begins the prayer thanking the Father that the Father hears Him (and interjects that He doesn’t really need to pray this way. He’s only praying this way because of the people). Then Jesus loudly cries out, “Lazarus, come out!” (notice the command). This I believe becomes our new model in prayer.

        Thus, I believe that if we’re going to walk commensurate with our true position in Christ we must begin to put off the begging posture and learn how to confidently rule with Jesus from Heavenly residence toward our earthly situations. That is why I use the words declare and prophesy.

        For further clarification on my positions on this subject see my posts entitled:

        “Intercession: From faithless beggar petitions to confident kingly prophetic declarations”
        “Grace Unto Co-Reigning!”

  4. Naomi Lafferty October 29, 2013 at 5:48 PM #

    Sounds Awesome!

  5. Ben Kilen October 31, 2013 at 11:08 AM #

    Its like ive heard this before… oh yeah, wgen you were trying to kill me by wanting me to read this while driving!

    Good stuff, better read and contemplated on while not driving.

    Keep it coming

    I have been thinking about the term “Abiding in tbe Ascended Life”

Leave a Reply

