Christ In Me – Musings on Col 1:27-28

14 Nov

“To them God willed to make known what are the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles: which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.  Him we preach, warning every man and teaching every man in all wisdom, that we may present every man perfect in Christ Jesus.” – Colossians 1:27-28

I’m taking a fresh look at this verse today.  “Christ in me”… is so much more than just getting saved… it’s so much more than just living under the cross (as monumental and powerful as the cross is).  That’s just the beginning… the entry point into the Kingdom.  The resurrected living Christ is now living in a resurrected and living me.  Jesus not only lives in me, He is becoming me… or I am becoming Jesus.  (grow up in all things into Him who is the head—Christ – Eph 4:15)  Of course, it’s not by might or power or striving or grunting or trying to be more holy… it’s “by my Spirit, says the Lord” (see Zech 4:6)  For me, the only acceptable standard is found in I John 4:17 which says, “we are as He is in this world.”   That’s the template and the lens through which I must look.  I MUST begin to see myself just like He sees me.

Christ in me; that’s my HOPE.  He is my only hope of ‘wearing’ any true and lasting glory that Jesus gave me, “And the glory which You gave Me I have given them…” (see John 17:22).  Obviously, I have no glory in myself, so I must see myself as Christ in me… and me as Christ.  Oh, what a stretch for my little pea brain mind… my history of human-ness tends to defile me… my traditional views hamstring me, and nearly everything I’ve known wants to keep me in ‘human mode’… and keep me in a human approach to this Christ-like-ness.  It’ll require nothing short of a full-on revelation to empower me to believe and walk in this reality.  Even so, come quickly, Lord Jesus!

And the “warning” and “teaching” which is referred to in Col 1:28 is so that I will believe, receive and live as a “man, perfect” in Christ Jesus.  Any mindset or reality other than being a perfect man in Christ, is substandard and not acceptable.  Even the best religious dogma, exhortations, and internal or external pressures to conform, are not acceptable… they’re even anti-Christ… unless they wholly lean upon the power of the spoken Word of God which defines and calls forth my identity in Christ because nothing exists or functions outside of the Word of His power (“upholding all things by the word of His power..” – Heb 1:3 )

In fact, to even enter, live and function in this current New Day, we MUST seek for this revelation so that it empowers us to walk free from our ‘I’m-a-sinner-trying-to-get-better’ mentality and our orphan spirit.  Oh, and there’s so much more than just getting free from this mentality!  When we get this revelation it will empower us to open up brand new rooms and vistas in God that await hungry and daring pioneers.  It’s a fact of history that most new discoveries in God have been opened up by those who were compelled by desperation of soul and who possessed a good measure of ‘devil-may-care’ attitude.  My only option is to press on….  “Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me.” – Phil 3:12   So on my journey into the revelation of perfection, I prophesy over my heart, “I am a perfect man in Christ!”

And now, on the lighter side (sort of), God has given me a very personalize verse to this end… Ps 37:37 – “Mark the perfect man…”   I just love how cool God is to prophesy over me 3000 years ago!!!   🙂

Onward, toward the perfect man.

– MLH

Leave a Reply

